

# The Tues News – January 2018

Welcome to the third edition of the Tues News, a monthly publication giving information about all things to do with Tuesday golf.

## **Forthcoming events**

Tue January 9th – A stroke round and a qualifier for the Peter Moorfield trophy. The overall winner on the day qualifies for the Peter Moorfield trophy final which is held on the second Tuesday in July.

Tue January 16th – A Stableford competition.

Tue January 23<sup>rd</sup> – A Stableford competition.

Tue January 30<sup>th</sup> – an Ambrose day. Roger Godwin has kindly donated a fantastic prize of a round of golf for four at Grange which includes carts, this prize is valued at \$900. There will be a nomination form in the clubroom from Tue 9<sup>th</sup> January to enter your teams, so please get in early to enter this Ambrose competition and win this fabulous prize. Sincere thanks to Roger for his kind donation.

#### Other news

Congratulations to Domenic Romeo who won the first 16<sup>th</sup> Jackpot Snowball hole on the first week of its inception. If the trend of winning the jackpot every week before it jackpots, the measuring stick will get shorter! Watch this space!

The qualifiers for the Peter Moorfield trophy so far since July 17 are:

July 17 – John Coakley.

Aug 17 – John Kokkotos.

```
Sep 17 – Murray O'Neill.
```

Oct 17 – Wally Majko.

Nov 17 – John Kokkotos.

Dec 17 – Ichiro Tanaka.

### The Kevin Vogelsang trophy

This trophy is for consistent good golf throughout the year, the year running from July to June. Each week the overall winner gets seven points down to one point for the seventh place. Thanks to John Kokkotos for keeping a record of the scores each week and also thanks to Murray O'Neill for sponsoring the trophy. The current placings up to Tuesday Jan 2nd are:

```
1<sup>st</sup> - 40 points - John Kokkotos.
```

2<sup>nd</sup> - 21 points – Eric McCalden.

3<sup>rd</sup> = 20 points - Wally Majko.

3<sup>rd</sup> = 20 points – Sav Giglio.

5<sup>th</sup> - 19 points - Dan Cole.

6<sup>th</sup> = 17 points – Tim Miller.

6<sup>th</sup> = 17points – Murray O'Neill.

8<sup>th</sup> = 16 points – Wally Launders.

8<sup>th</sup> = 16 points – Ken Hoare.

8<sup>th</sup> = 16 points – Rocco Fontanelli.

## Something new

For 2018 there will be a new competition, the Tuesday Golfer of the Year. Each week everyone's Stableford scores are recorded and at the end of the year the golfer with the highest average score over the year will be declared the Golfer of the Year. To qualify, each golfer must have completed at least 20 rounds of golf. An awards lunch has been pencilled in for Jan 22<sup>nd</sup> 2019.

The numbers of golfers on Tuesday's has been on the increase recently and on Jan 2<sup>nd</sup> to allow increased numbers, the pro shop allowed us to use the 10<sup>th</sup> tee. We believe this worked quite well but are aware of a few problems with the back nine groups approaching the first tee. We as a club are earnestly trying to improve our relationship with the Pro shop to our mutual benefits. Therefore, please be tolerant and polite to the Pro shop staff and other course members. By doing this, it will be of great benefit to us all. Thank you.

In light of the increased numbers, an extra weekly tee time from the Pro shop has been requested, increasing the total tee times available to NAGC to 18 (72 golfers). Thank you very much for your support.